The Classics Book Group Booklist

Solas Nua's Classics Book Group will meet four times in 2023: February, April, August, and October on the 4th Monday of the month.

Activities go beyond monthly discussions of a book, the group regularly collaborates with the Solas Nua team, giving valuable input into programming ideas

There is no membership, anyone is free to join!

Find out about Solas Nua's Fiction Book GroupPoetry Book Group, and Nonfiction Book Group.

Click on this link to join the Zoom session


  • February 26 - Colm Tóibin, The Blackwater Lightship (1999) 
  • April 22 - John McGahern, Amongst Women (1990)

Previous Fifth Monday Classics Book Group Index


  • February 27Dervla Murphy, A Place Apart: Northern Ireland in the 1970s, Eland 2015, (317 pages) 
    A Place Apart won the Christopher Ewart-Biggs Memorial Prize in 1979.  Among a number of other awards she was the 2021 recipient of the Edward Stanford Award for Outstanding Contribution to Travel Writing.
  • April 24 - William Trevor, Fools of Fortune, Penguin 2006, (224 pages) 
    Winner of the Whitbread Prize for Best Novel of the Year 1983
  • October 23 - Edna O'Brien, The Country Girls, Plume (2002, reprint). 192 pages. The Country Girls won the Kingsley Amis Award in 1962.


  • January 31 - Seamus Deane, Reading in the Dark (1997)

  • May 30 - Elizabeth Bowen, Bowen's Court (& Seven Winters) (1999)

  • August 29 - Brian Moore, The Emperor of Ice Cream (Republished 2021)

  • October 31 - Maeve Brennan, The Springs of Affection: Stories of Dublin (2009)


  • August 30 - Maurice Leitch, Silver's City (1981)

  • November 29 - Máirtin Ó Cadhain, Graveyard Clay: Cré na Cille (1949)